St. Mary's and the Missions
Roman Catholic Parish in Owen Sound
Confessions: 30 minutes before all Masses
Address: 149 McNab St., Chatsworth, ON N0H 1G0
Built in 1864, with its unique painted stained-glass windows, St. Stanislaus was named after a bishop and martyr from Poland. Though it was a frame structure in its early years, the building was bricked over in 1880, constructed on land donated by Mr. James Hamilton.
The members of St. Stan’s congregation are a vibrant group, willing to lend a hand to anyone in need at a moment’s notice. Outreach is a very important part of the work they do in their small community and each member is hardworking and generous with their time and talents. Their spirit of generosity is not limited to church members alone, but to all of Chatsworth and beyond its borders. Though very proud of their church, which celebrated its 150th anniversary in the fall of 2014, the building requires constant renovation and repair, and the tightly knit congregation rallies often with successful fund raisers like their wine & cheese social, with silent auction and their famous pie sales and pasta dinners. Many are active participants in all the ministries of the Church, but most especially outreach; ministering to the sick and those in need. A major project for the members of this beautiful little church has been the restoration of its stained glass windows. It’s also an ongoing expense, but these tirelessly hardworking people seem ever up to the challenge.